We would like to wish everyone a great Christmas and New Year. Despite the challenges of covid19 our team of Alderman and Common Councillors in the Ward of Cheap have delivered on our commitments. Read more about this in our latest Ward newsletter – click here.

Throughout the year we have stayed in touch virtually and in person, discussing policing priorities with our dedicated ward police officers, meeting with our local MP Nickie Aiken, joining events organised by the Ward of Cheap Club and Cheapside Business Alliance, or simply catching up with old and new friends at our annual summer garden reception.

Robert Hughes-Penney as our Alderman has supported businesses based in the Ward of Cheap and aided the Lord Mayor as ambassador for the City of London’s financial and professional services and the growing tech sector.

Alastair Moss as chair of the planning and transportation committee has helped to lead the City’s initial response to the pandemic, and our wider blueprint for growth and innovation, as well as the development of an ambitious plan to make the City’s streets more accommodating for pedestrians and cyclists.

Nick Bensted-Smith as chair of the City’s Financial Investment Board has been instrumental in shaping the City Corporation’s net zero commitment for our £3bn investment portfolio.

Tijs Broeke has focussed his work as Common Councillor as deputy chair of the Police Authority Board to keep the City one of the safest financial districts in the world, on education supporting over 7,400 students across London, and on ending homelessness – overseeing support and interventions resulting in a drop by one-third of rough sleepers in the Square Mile.

As 2021 draws to a close, we as your elected representatives for the Ward
of Cheap are firmly looking forward to shaping our commitments to, and priorities for, the City of London in 2022 and beyond. Together we look forward to continue to shape our vibrant City – creating an ecosystem in the Square Mile that thrives as we re-emerge from the pandemic next year.